ECW Tube Talk: Part 9

We’re back with another installment of Tube Talk, where we let you in on the TV chatter that happens ’round the lunch table and in the spoiler-prevention zone behind the closed boardroom doors. Last time we talked to one of our interns, Jessica Rose, and this time we’re talking to one of our resident TV experts,

Managing Editor Crissy Boylan

better known in the the Vampire Diaries and Gossip Girl fan communities as Crissy Calhoun. Here’s what she had to say about how she spends her TV time:

What shows are must-see TV for you right now?

The Vampire Diaries, 30 Rock, Friday Night Lights, Parenthood, and Gossip Girl, but I also watch Being Human, Community, 90210, America’s Next Top Model, Being Erica . . . I’ve also recently started watching Gilmore Girls (borrowed the season 1 DVDs from my dad) and plan to start watching Supernatural and Skins.

And which shows rank as all-time favourites?

Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Battlestar Galactica (but I still haven’t recovered from that craptastic finale). Arrested Development. The Mighty Boosh. And I have a soft spot for the teen dramas of my teen years: My So-Called Life, the original 90210, and Dawson’s Creek.

Have your fellow ECW staffers talked you into watching a show you wouldn’t have otherwise tried?

I didn’t start watching Buffy until I interned at ECW, but it was always on the backburner of my to-watch list. Sarah got me into Gossip Girl, and I heartily thank her for that!

If you were to write a TV companion guide, which show would you examine, and why?

Hmm . . . Maybe I would write Love You to Death: The Unofficial Companion to The Vampire Diaries. Or Spotted: Your One and Only Unofficial Guide to Gossip Girl. My alter ego — Crissy Calhoun — spends a heck of a lot of time writing about television.

Posted in ECW

Leave a Reply

