ECW Tube Talk: Part 1

Yes, we’re a publishing house, but we also love TV at ECW. Good TV, anyway. I’d venture that more TV DVDs circulate around our office than in the Rogers video below us, and chances are, if you’re around first thing in the morning, you’ll hear at least one conversation about last night’s TV offerings. And that’s why we publish such an extensive TV list. So we thought we’d open up our conversations to everyone. I’ve asked our staffers a few basic questions about their TV watching, which we’ll post in a series. Since I’m the principal blogger here, we’ll start with me!

Name: Jen Knoch

Position: Associate Editor

What shows are must-see TV for you right now?

I’m usually relatively up to date on Gossip Girl, Glee, 30 Rock, Being Erica, America’s Next Top Model, and Modern Family. I also recently went on a Big Love bender and am working my way through season 1 of Battlestar Galactica and season 2 of Pushing Daisies.

And which shows rank as all-time favourites?

Sex and the City, Buffy (minus season 4), 30 Rock, Scrubs (before Season 5) and Slings and Arrows (an incredibly smart and funny Canadian series for those who don’t know it). I can watch those shows over and over again.

Have your fellow ECW staffers talked you into watching a show you wouldn’t have otherwise tried?

When something gets talked about a lot around the office, I’m much more likely to try it.  I work with some TV experts, after all. Gossip Girl, True Blood, Battlestar, and Pushing Daisies all fall into that category. And I’m sure I’ll become a Vampire Diaries convert eventually. I’m also likely to pick up a show if I’m working on a book about it (then you can rationalize TV watching as essential work research!): that’s how I started watching Mad Men, and recently, went back to watching House (both good decisions!).

If you were to write a TV companion guide, which show would it be for, and why?

Absolutely Sex and the City. Such a rich show with lots of interesting stuff to examine: gender politics, feminism (or as my brilliant friend Beth would call this, “pulp feminism”), sexuality, NYC, and fashion. Sadly, as the abysmal movie trailer attests (Are they in a desert? A blue-screen desert?), I think the time for this one has passed.

Next week we’ll talk to Senior Editor Jen Hale, who acquires most of our TV titles, about her viewing habits and what makes a great TV book. Stay tuned!

Posted in ECW

2 thoughts on “ECW Tube Talk: Part 1

  1. Pingback: ECW Tube Talk: Part 4 « Books on TV

  2. as soon as there are DVDs to lend of Vampire Diaries, you will have them in your hand! then you can watch season 2 as it airs & enjoy the in-office hysteria.

    glad you remembered Being Erica! (i did not.)

Leave a Reply

